University of Aberdeen Core Facilities and Shared Resources 

 

Our Services

1. Direct instrument use

We offer access to instruments in line with customers' level of expertise.

 

2. Training

In-house or on-site training courses focus on developing competency, ensuring your staff have accessed our instruments.

 

3. Testing or consultancy services

Our staff can be contracted for consulting and testing services to provide measurement, interpretation and analysis of data.

 

4. Contract research and development projects

We can carry out research for you. Your project funds the costs of research including instrument fees, consumables and salary for staff or scholarships for students.

 

5. Leveraged research and development projects

These partnerships can involve multiple collaborative partners and you benefit from our full academic and technical expertise.

 

Pricing Eligibility Criteria:

  • Internal Rates: Apply to U of A Staff, Students, and Affiliates (including Adjunct, Clinical, and Honorary appointments), when the project grant funding is administered by U of A.
  • External/TRACK Rates: Apply when the IFCC facility access is for a project with funding administered by another organization or has been commissioned by the funder.
  • Commercial Rates: Apply to commercial and industry-based projects. 

Where applicable VAT is applied. 

 

iLab Cores at University of Aberdeen

Core Name Primary Contact Email Phone Number/Ext
Iain Fraser Cytometry Centre (Core Facility)

The IFCC links expertise to the needs of government agencies, industry, educational and private individuals. Our hypothesis-driven approach to scientific problems enables valuable insight leading to better collaborations and outcomes. A detailed upfront project discussion and regular customer feedba

Iain Fraser Cytometry Centre cytometry@abdn.ac.uk +44(0)1224-437597

non-iLab Cores at University of Aberdeen

Core Name Primary Contact Email Phone Number/Ext
Microscopy and Histology Core Facility

Kevin Mackenzie k.s.mackenzie@abdn.ac.uk
Aberdeen Proteomics

David Stead d.stead@abdn.ac.uk
Centre for Genome Enabled Biology and Medicine (CGEBM)

Elaina Collie-Duguid e.collie-duguid@abdn.ac.uk
qPCR

Nimesh Mody n.mody@abdn.ac.uk
Rowett Institute Analytic Services

Gary Cameron g.a.cameron@abdn.ac.uk
Grampian Data Safe Haven (DaSH)

digitalresearch@abdn.ac.uk
Scottish Biologics Facility

Andy Porter
X-Ray Diffraction (XRD)

Jan Skakle
ACEMAC (Aberdeen Centre for Electron Microscopy, Analysis and Characterisation)

Raman Spectroscopy

David Muirhead dmuirhead@abdn.ac.uk
Aberdeen University Geophysical Equipment Repository (AUGER)

David Graham Cornwell d.cornwell@abdn.ac.uk
National Decommissioning Centre

Richard Neilson
School of Natural & Computing Sciences Research Facilities

Rebecca Walker
Aberdeen Biomedical Imaging Centre

Gordon Waiter
University of Aberdeen Searchable Equipment list

Equipment list on the The University of Aberdeen Research Portal hosted by Pure

Search
Clear